Liberty Fire Company #2
100 Years of Service & Dedication
October 26th, 1908 - October 26th, 2008


Liberty Fire Company No. 2’s 100th Anniversary Week

 Liberty Fire Company No. 2 celebrated their 100th anniversary during the week of October 18th, 2008. There was much fun had by all, firehouse members, community members and family alike. Kicking things off on October 18th was Uncle Smiley. They rocked the firehouse all night. 

On Monday the 20th, the Cub Scouts of Pack 14 and the Boy Scouts of Troops 36, 38 and 102 attended a special drill. The boys were taken on a tour of the firehouse, Engine 3013, RIT Truck 3043 and a demonstration of some of the equipment the firemen use responding to emergencies. The boys and their leaders enjoyed an informative night and were treated to refreshments afterwards.

In the middle of the 100th Anniversary week, October 21st-23rd, bar patrons were treated to firefighter's specials. 

 On the 24th, was the 100th Anniversary ticket drawing with DJ Rob Denunzio. Everyone was dancing to great music late into the night.

 The big finale was on Saturday, October 25th, 2008. This was the Member's Banquet, held at The Washington. Liberty Fire Company was honored to have Pennsylvania State Senator Lisa Boscola, Pennsylvania State Representative Richard Grucela and the honorable Joe Capozzolo, Mayor of the Borough of Bangor, attend as special guests. The retired & active members of Liberty Fire Company No. 2 and their guests enjoyed an evening of great food, music and brotherhood. A beautiful Power-Point presentation was prepared by Matthew Pinto & Robert Wolfe that ran during the cocktail hour.

 Robert Wolfe was the Master of Ceremonies and presided over the podium with some wonderful quips, jokes and great stories of the bravery and commitment of the members of Liberty Fire Co. 

 Donald Butz, Chaplain of Liberty gave the invocation, a delicious meal was served and then it was on to the main program. 

 This part of the banquet was devoted to the awards given to the members of Liberty based upon their years of service Liberty Fire Company and the community. Some awards of special note are; Jeff Pritchard, 35 years of service; Mike Pinto, 30 years of service; and Richard Hilbert, 30 years of service. 

 Fire Chief of Bangor, Robert Owens, received a special award for 25 years of service as the Fire Chief, a chrome-plated axe, refurbished from Engine 6 Baker was presented to the Company.   Liberty Fire Company No. 2 also received proclamations and awards from our state senator and representative and our honorable mayor.

Looking back it was a very busy week but enjoyable at the same time. Congratulations to all the members of Liberty Fire Company No. 2. It is your hard work and dedication to the community and the Fire House that has kept Liberty a household name in the Borough of Bangor. Here's to another 100 years.

 Written By Rick Bruce

Charter Members
S. W. Bates Herbert Beiler John H. Jones
T. B. Finkbeiner Joseph Horn T. F. Miller
J. E. Finkbeiner J. C. Williams George O. Beers
John Turtzo A. N. Albert Samuel Bonney
Adelbert Ackerman David Williams Norman flory
Floyd Finkbeiner W. H. Miller Daniel Stiles
John W. Hughes W. G. Allen Roger Gist
M. Z. Frey B. J. Frutchey Joseph Turtzo
James Wagner Peter Repsher Wilbert Finkbeiner
J. I. Repsher Daniel Turtzo T. E. Saylor


First Officers
President S. W. Bates
Vice President T. E. Saylor
Financial Secertary W. G. Allen
Recording Secertary B. J. Frutchey
Treasurer J. I. Repsher
Foreman (Captian) T. F. Miller
1st Assistant Foreman (1st Lieutenant)  Norman Flory
2nd Assistant Foreman (2nd Lieutenant) Ed Finkbeiner
Fire Recorder Roger Gist
Janitor John H. Jones


2008 Active Members
Rober Owens Jeff Pritchard
Denny Sylvester John Roberts
Michael Pinto Brian Albert
Richard Hilbert Todd Albert
Joe Pinto Sr. Jeff Altorfer
Richard Itterly Dave Owens
James Patti Robert Wolfe
Kevin Labar Len Thomas Jr.
Tom Buist George Schubert
Scott Sylvester Joe Pinto Jr.
Scott Roberts Greg Bisher
Scott Hettenbach Robert Shoemaker
Jason Albert Dean Constable
Nick Falcone Paul Phillips
John Rigione Jeff Lambert
Matthew Pinto Dale Fisher Jr.
Ernie Hase III Andrew Schubert
Rick Bruce Donald Stumpp
Schawn Schubert  


© 2022 Liberty Fire Company #2